Poetic Investigations

Tom D'Evelyn on Poetry and Its Others (philosophy, theology, poetics)

Who Says So?: Considering the roots of the life of freedom in poetry

cropped-cropped-river.jpg“Tyrannical say-soing Gods both reflect and produce tyrannical say-soing humans” says the contemporary Irish philosopher William Desmond in God and the Between (page 256). Say-so? I say so. One of the blessings of poetry is the practice it gives us in experience at a remove from “because I say so.” Young people often become poets for just this reason. To become a good reader of poetry is to become skilled at a form of transcendence, a form which enables one to disregard tyrannical say-soing Gods.

5 comments on “Who Says So?: Considering the roots of the life of freedom in poetry

  1. marion wrye
    September 23, 2014

    I’m having a hard time expressing how mind-blowingly this diamond reflects what surely is a great and liberating truth.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Tom D'Evelyn
      September 23, 2014

      Well I’m not so sure about the surely but thanks Marion!

      Sent from my iPhone

      Like

  2. Mary Ann Mayer
    September 24, 2014

    Please say more! It’s unusual to feel left hanging,but this week I do.
    best,
    Mary Ann

    Like

  3. Tom D'Evelyn
    September 26, 2014

    But Mary Ann, you are a poet! Is the word “transcendence” what leaves you hanging?

    Like

    • Mary Ann mayer
      September 26, 2014

      Not at all Tom. I’m comfortable and familiar with that and so I read. I wanted more that’s all. More to dwell in (and on) on this theme. You just stopped too soon. Get back on the dance floor!

      Like

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on September 23, 2014 by in Uncategorized.